Extreme Championship Wrestling
World Heavyweight Title Holders
Jimmy Snuka
April 25th, 1992
Snuka defeated Sal Bellomo in the tournament finals for the NWA ECW belt.
Johnny Hot Body
April 26th, 1992
Jimmy Snuka
July 12th, 1992
Don Muraco
October 24th, 1992
The Sandman
November 16th, 1992
Don Muraco(2nd)
April 3rd, 1992
Tito Santana
August 8th, 1992
Shane Douglas
September 9th, 1993
Douglas won the belt via forfeit, due to Santana not appearing to defend the title.
October 2nd, 1993
Terry Funk
December 26th, 1993
Shane Douglas(2nd)
March 26th, 1994
Douglas won the NWA World Title in the finals of the NWA World Title Tournament on August 27th, 1994, but immediately vacated the belt and announced himself the ECW World Heavyweight Champion.
The Sandman(2nd)
April 15th, 1995
Mikey Whipwreck
October 28th, 1995
The Sandman(3rd)
December 9th, 1995
The Sandman won a "Three-Way" Match over Steve Austin and Mikey Whipwreck.
January 27th, 1996
The Sandman(4th)
October 5th, 1996
The Sandman & Tommy Dreamer won a "Tag-Team" Match over Brian Lee & Stevie Richards, who was subbing for Raven; the belt was on the line to whoever got the pinfall.
December 7th, 1996
Terry Funk(2nd)
April 13th, 1997
August 9th, 1997
Shane Douglas(3rd)
August 17th, 1997
Douglas became champion by winning a "Three Way" Match over Terry Funk and Sabu.
Bam Bam Bigelow
October 16th, 1997
Shane Douglas(4th)
November 30th, 1997
January 10th, 1999
Mike Awesome
September 19th, 1999
Awesome became the champion by winning a "Three Way" Match over Masato Tanaka and Taz.
Masato Tanaka
December 17th, 1999
Mike Awesome(2nd)
December 23rd, 1999
April 13th, 2000
Tommy Dreamer
April 22nd, 2000
Justin Credible
April 22nd, 2000
Jerry Lynn
October 1st, 2000
Steve Corino
November 5th, 2000
Corino won a "Double Jeopardy" Match over Jerry Lynn, Justin Credible, and the Sandman)
The Sandman(5th)
January 7th, 2001
The Sandman won a "Three Way Tables, Ladders, Chairs, & Canes" Match over Steve Corino and Justin Credible)
January 7th, 2001
Rhino threatened the Sandman's family to get a title shot on the same night as the Sandman's victory, beating an injured champion for the belt; company closed soon after.
Rob Van Dam
June 13th, 2006
Van Dam defeated John Cena at ECW One Night Stand II to become the WWE Raw Heavyweight Champion, and was rewarded by Paul Heyman on the first WWECW TV Taping by becoming the first new ECW Heavyweight Champion.
The Big Show
July 4th, 2006
Bobby Lashley
December 3rd, 2006
Lashley won an "Extreme Elimination Chamber" Match over the Big Show, Hardcore Holly, CM Punk, Test, and Rob Vam Dam.
Vince McMahon
April 29th, 2007
Vince got the pinfall in a "Handicap" Match pitting Vince, Shane McMahon, & Umaga against Lashley.
Bobby Lashley(2nd)
June 3rd, 2007
Lashley won a "Street Fight" Match over McMahon; belt vacated June 11th when Lashley is drafted to Raw.
Johnny Nitro / John Morrison
June 24th, 2007
Tournament was held previous week to set up Chris Benoit vs. CM Punk at Vengeance PPV; however, Benoit missed the PPV (and would later turn up dead, along with his family, a few days later), and Nitro was given his place; Nitro defeated Punk to earn the vacated title; Nitro later changed his name to John Morrison.
CM Punk
September 1st, 2007
Chavo Guerrero
January 22nd, 2008
March 30th, 2008
Mark Henry
June 29th, 2008
Henry became champion by winning a "Triple Threat" Match over Kane and the Big Show
Matt Hardy
September 7th, 2008
Hardy became champion by winning a "Scramble" Match over Mark Henry, Chavo Guerrero, Finlay, and the Miz
Jack Swagger
January 12th, 2009
April 26th, 2009
Tommy Dreamer(2nd)
June 7th, 2009
Dreamer became champion by winning a "Triple Threat Hardcore" Match over Christian and Jack Swagger.
July 26th, 2009
Ezekiel Jackson
February 16th, 2010
Jackson defeated Christian on the last ECW TV broadcast. Belt seemingly retired currently.

Back Next