(WWE) World Heavyweight Title Holders
(Currently On WWE Smackdown)
Hunter Hearst Helmsley
September 2nd, 2002
Awarded the title on Raw, due to Smackdown keeping the World Title. Triple H unified the belt with the WWE Intercontinental Title 10/20/2002.
Shawn Michaels
November 17th, 2002
Hunter Hearst Helmsley(2nd)
December 15th, 2002
Bill Goldberg
September 21st, 2003
Hunter Hearst Helmsley(3rd)
December 14th, 2003
Chris Benoit
March 14th, 2004
Randy Orton
August 15th, 2004
Hunter Hearst Helmsley(4th)
September 12th, 2004
Belt vacated 12/06/04 after a Triple Threat Match the week before between Helmsley, Chris Benoit, and Edge ended with a controversial tap-out/pin.
Hunter Hearst Helmsley(5th)
January 9th, 2005
Triple H won an "Elimination Chamber" Match over Randy Orton, Chris Benoit, Chris Jericho, Edge, and Batista.
Dave Batista
April 3rd, 2005
Title goes to Smackdown when Batista is drafted there 6/30/2005. Injuries forced Batista to vacate the title on 1/10/2006.
Kurt Angle
January 10th, 2006
Angle won a Battle Royal to win the vacated title, last eliminating Mark Henry.
Rey Mysterio
April 2nd, 2006
Mysterio became champion by winning a "Triple Threat" Match over Kurt Angle and Randy Orton.
King Booker
July 23rd, 2006
November 26th, 2006
The Undertaker
April 1st, 2007
May 8th, 2007
Edge used his "Money In The Bank" contract to win the title. He vacated the title on 7/17/2007 due to injury.
The Great Khali
July 17th, 2007
The Great Khali won a 20-Man Battle Royal to win the vacated championship.
September 16th, 2007
Batista won a "Triple Threat" Match over the Great Khali and Rey Mysterio.
December 16th, 2007
Edge won a "No-Disqualification Triple Threat" Match over Batista & the Undertaker.
The Undertaker(2nd)
March 30th, 2008
The Undertaker was stripped of the title by Smackdown GM Vickie Guerrero on 4/29/2008, supposedly due to the Undertaker's usage of an illegal choke submission hold.
June 1st, 2008
Edge won a "Tables, Ladders, & Chairs" Match over the Undertaker to both win the vacated title and banish the Undertaker from the WWE.
CM Punk
June 30th, 2008
Punk used his Money In The Bank contract to win the title from Edge on Monday Night Raw.
Chris Jericho
September 7th, 2008
Jericho replaced Punk [who was taken out earlier in the night] in a "Scramble" Match at WWE Unforgiven '08, winning the title over John Bradshaw Layfield, Rey Mysterio, Batista, and Kane.
October 26th, 2008
Steve Austin was the special referee for this match, as voted by the fans (for Cyber Sunday '08).
Chris Jericho(2nd)
November 3rd, 2008
John Cena
November 23rd, 2008
February 15th, 2009
Edge inserted himself into Elimination Chamber match, won belt to take it back to Smackdown.
John Cena(2nd)
April 5th, 2009
Cena, with the victory, was able to bring the World Title back to Monday Night Raw.
April 26th, 2009
Edge took the championship back with him to Friday Night Smackdown with his victory.
Jeff Hardy
June 7th, 2009
CM Punk(2nd)
June 7th, 2009
Punk cashed in his "Money In The Bank" Briefcase after the Hardy/Edge match.
Jeff Hardy(2nd)
July 26th, 2009
CM Punk(3rd)
August 23rd, 2009
The Undertaker(3rd)
October 4th, 2009
Chris Jericho(3rd)
February 21st, 2010
Jericho won an "Elimination Chamber" Match over John Morrison, Rey Mysterio, CM Punk, R-Truth, and The Undertaker.
Jack Swagger
March 30th, 2010
Rey Mysterio(2nd)
June 20th, 2010
Mysterio won a "Four-Way" Match over Jack Swagger, CM Punk, and The Big Show.
July 18th, 2010
Kane used his "Money In The Bank" contract and got the victory over Mysterio to become the champion.
December 19th, 2010
Edge became the champion by winning a "Fatal Four-Way TLC" Match over Alberto Del Rio, Rey Mysterio, and Kane. Edge was stripped of the title on February 18th, 2011 by GM Vickie Guerrero after using his Spear during a match (the Spear had been declared illegal).
Dolph Ziggler
February 15th, 2011
Ziggler was awarded the vacated World Heavyweight Championship by GM Vickie Guerrero.
February 15th, 2011
Edge was forced to vacate the World Heavyweight Championship due to injury, retiring from the sport.
May 1st, 2011
Christian won the vacated championship by winning a "Ladder" Match over Alberto Del Rio.
Randy Orton(2nd)
May 3rd, 2011
July 17th, 2011
Christian won the title, via DQ, from Randy Orton. The stipulations for the match allowed the title to change hands via DQ.
Randy Orton(3rd)
August 14th, 2011
Mark Henry
September 18th, 2011
The Big Show
December 18th, 2011
Daniel Bryan
December 18th, 2011
After The Big Show won a "Chairs" Match over Mark Henry to win the title, he was knocked out by Henry. Bryan then cashed in his Money In The Bank contract and got the pin.
April 1st, 2012
The Big Show(2nd)
October 28th, 2012
Alberto Del Rio
January 8th, 2013
Dolph Ziggler(2nd)
April 8th, 2013
Ziggler cashed in his "Money In The Bank" contract after Del Rio won a "Handicap" Match over Jack Swagger & Zeb Colter. Swagger had injured Del Rio's ankle during the match, leaving him vulnerable.

Back Next