New Japan Pro Wrestling
International Wrestling Grand Prix
World Tag-Team Title Holders
Tatsumi Fujinami & Kengo Kimura
December 12th, 1985
Fujinami & Kimura became the first champions by defeating Antonio Inoki & Seiji Sakaguchi in the 1985 IWGP Tag-Team League tournament finals. They were officially recognized as the first champions on January 5th, 1986.
Osamu Kido & Akira Maeda
August 5th, 1986
Tatsumi Fujinami & Kengo Kimura(2nd)
September 23rd, 1986
Fujinami & Kimura were forced to vacate the titles in February 5th, 1987, after the team broke up.
Shiro Koshinaka & Keiji Mutoh
March 20th, 1987
Koshinaka & Mutoh became the new champions by defeating Akira Maeda & Nobuhiko Takada in the tournament finals.
Akira Maeda & Nobuhiko Takada
March 26th, 1987
Yoshiaki Fujiwara & Kazuo Yamazaki
September 1st, 1987
Tatsumi Fujinami & Kengo Kimura(3rd)
January 18th, 1988
Riki Choshu & Masa Saito
June 10th, 1988
George Takano & Super Strong Machine
March 19th, 1989
Riki Choshu & Takayuki Iizuka
July 13th, 1989
Shinya Hashimoto & Masa Saito
September 20th, 1989
Masahiro Chono & Keiji Mutoh
April 27th, 1990
Hiroshi Hase & Kensuke Sasaki
November 2nd, 1990
Hiro Saito & Super Strong Machine
December 26th, 1990
Hiroshi Hase & Kensuke Sasaki(2nd)
March 6th, 1991
The Steiner Brothers
(Rick Steiner & Scott Steiner)
March 21st, 1991
Hiroshi Hase & Keiji Mutoh
November 5th, 1991
Hase & Mutoh became the champions by defeating Rick Steiner & Scott Norton (subbing for Scott Steiner).
Bam Bam Bigelow & Big Van Vader
March 1st, 1992
The Steiner Brothers(2nd)
June 26th, 1992
Tony Halme & Scott Norton
November 22nd, 1992
The Hell Raisers
(Road Warrior Hawk & Power Warrior)
December 14th, 1992
Jurassic Powers
(Hercules Hernandez & Scott Norton)
August 5th, 1993
The Hell Raisers(2nd)
January 4th, 1994
Hiroshi Hase & Keiji Mutoh(2nd)
November 25th, 1994
Hase & Mutoh vacated the titles on May 6th, 1995, due to Mutoh winning the NJPW IWGP World Heavyweight Championship.
Masahiro Chono & Hiroyoshi Tenzan
June 10th, 1995
Chono & Tenzan became the champions by defeating Shinya Hashimoto & Junji Hirata. They vacated the titles on July 7th, 1995, due to Chono no-showing an event due to his father's death.
Shinya Hashimoto & Junji Hirata
July 13th, 1995
Hashimoto & Hirata became the new champions by defeating Mike Enos & Scott Norton.
Takashi Iizuka & Kazuo Yamazaki
June 12th, 1996
Masahiro Chono & Hiroyoshi Tenzan(2nd)
July 16th, 1996
Tatsumi Fujinami & Kengo Kimura(4th)
January 4th, 1997
Riki Choshu & Kensuke Sasaki
April 12th, 1997
Satoshi Kojima & Manabu Nakanishi
May 3rd, 1997
Kensuke Sasaki & Kazuo Yamazaki
August 10th, 1997
Masahiro Chono & Keiji Mutoh(2nd)
October 19th, 1997
Chono & Mutoh were forced to vacate the titles on April 21st, 1997, due to Mutoh's knee injury.
Masahiro Chono & Hiroyoshi Tenzan(3rd)
June 5th, 1998
Chono & Tenzan became the new champions by defeating Shiro Koshinaka & Genichiro Tenryu in the tournament finals.
Shiro Koshinaka & Genichiro Tenryu
July 15th, 1998
Satoshi Kojima & Hiroyoshi Tenzan
January 4th, 1999
Shiro Koshinaka & Kensuke Sasaki
March 22nd, 1999
Tatsutoshi Goto & Michiyoshi Ohara
June 27th, 1999
Yuji Nagata & Manabu Nakanishi
August 28th, 1999
Satoshi Kojima & Hiroyoshi Tenzan(2nd)
July 20th, 2000
Tatsumi Fujinami & Osamu Nishimura
September 22nd, 2001
Taiyo Kea & Keiji Mutoh
October 28th, 2001
Kea & Mutoh were forced to vacate the titles on February 2nd, 2002, when Mutoh left the NJPW.
Masahiro Chono & Hiroyoshi Tenzan(4th)
March 24th, 2002
Chono & Tenzan became the new champions by defeating Yuji Nagata & Manabu Nakanishi in the tournament finals.
Hiroyoshi Tanahashi & Yutaka Yoshie
June 13th, 2003
Osamu Nishimura & Hiroyoshi Tenzan
December 14th, 2003
Minoru Suzuki & Yoshihiro Takayama
February 1st, 2004
New Japan ordered the titles to be vacated on November 9th, 2004, due to Takayama's injury. Takayama attempted to give his half of the titles to Kensuke Sasaki on November 21st, 2004. But the NJPW still vacated the titles.
Shinsuke Nakamura & Hiroshi Tanahashi
December 11th, 2004
Nakamura & Tanahashi became the new champions by defeating Kensuke Sasaki & Minoru Suzuki.
Masahiro Chono & Hiroyoshi Tenzan(5th)
October 20th, 2005
Chono was injured in July 2006 and the NJPW World Tag-Team Titles were put in limbo.
Shiro Koshinaka & Togi Makabe
July 2nd, 2006
Koshinaka & Makabe became the interim champions by defeating Giant Bernard & Travis Tomko in the tournament finals.
Manabu Nakanishi & Takao Omori
September 28th, 2006
Nakanishi & Omori defeated Shiro Koshinaka & Togi Makabe on July 17th, 2006, to become the interim champions. NJPW President Simon Kelly Inoki stripped Masa Chono & Hiroyoshi Tenzan of the titles on September 20th, 2006, after Chono and Tenzan were no longer teaming together. Nakanishi & Ohmori are officially recognized as the champions on September 28th, 2006.
Giant Bernard & Travis Tomko
March 11th, 2007
The Most Violent Players
(Togi Makabe & Toru Yano)
February 17th, 2008
Team 3-D
(Brother Ray & Brother Devon)
January 4th, 2009
The British Invasion
(Brutus Magnus & Doug Williams)
July 21st, 2009
NJPW did not recognize the title match, since it was put on in Total Nonstop Wrestling. However, NJPW would later recognize the British Invasion as champions on August 15th, 2009.
Team 3-D(2nd)
October 18th, 2009
Team 3-D became champions by winning a "Four Way Metal Mayhem Double Ladder" Match over the British Invasion (Brutus Magnus & Doug Williams), Beer Money (Robert Roode & James Storm), and the Main Event Mafia (Booker T & Scott Steiner).
No Limit
(Tetsuya Naito & Yujiro)
January 1st, 2010
No Limit became champions by winning a "Three-Way Hardcore" Match over Team 3-D and Karl Anderson & Giant Bernard.
(Wataru Inoue & Yuji Nagata)
May 3rd, 2010
Seigi-gun became champions by winning a "Three-Way" Match over No Limit and Karl Anderson & Giant Bernard.
Bad Intentions
(Karl Anderson & Giant Bernard)
June 19th, 2010
Anderson & Bernard became champions by winning a "Three-Way" Match over No Limit and Seigi-gun.