New Japan Pro Wrestling
International Wrestling Grand Prix
World Junior Heavyweight Title Holders
Shiro Koshinaka
February 6th, 1986
Koshinaka became the first champion by defeating the Cobra in the tournament finals.
Nobuhiko Takada
May 19th, 1986
Shiro Koshinaka(2nd)
September 19th, 1986
Koshinaka was forced to vacate the championship on August 2nd, 1987, due to a leg injury.
Kuniaki Kobayashi
August 20th, 1987
Kobayashi became the new champion by defeating Nobuhiko Takada in the tournament finals.
Hiroshi Hase
December 27th, 1987
Owen Hart
May 27th, 1988
Shiro Koshinaka(3rd)
June 24th, 1988
Hiroshi Hase(2nd)
March 16th, 1989
Jushin Thunder Liger
May 25th, 1989
Naoki Sano
August 10th, 1989
Jushin Thunder Liger(2nd)
January 30th, 1990
The Pegasus Kid
August 19th, 1990
Jushin Thunder Liger(3rd)
November 1st, 1990
Liger vacated the championship on April 15th, 1991, due to the 1991 Top of the Super Junior Tournament.
Norio Honaga
April 30th, 1991
Honaga became the new champion by defeating Jushin Thunder Liger in the Top of the Super Junior Tournament finals.
Jushin Thunder Liger(4th)
June 12th, 1991
Akira Nogami
August 9th, 1991
Norio Honaga(2nd)
November 5th, 1991
(Jushin Thunder Liger(5th)
February 8th, 1992
El Samurai
June 26th, 1992
Ultimo Dragon
November 22nd, 1992
Jushin Thunder Liger(6th)
January 3rd, 1993
Liger was forced to vacate the championship on September 24th, 1991, due to a broken leg suffered during a tag-team match.
Norio Honaga(3rd)
September 27th, 1994
Honaga became the new champion by defeating Wild Pegasus in the tournament finals.
Koji Kanemoto
February 19th, 1995
May 3rd, 1995
Koji Kanemoto(2nd)
June 14th, 1995
Jushin Thunder Liger(7th)
January 4th, 1996
The Great Sasuke
April 29th, 1996
The Great Sasuke won the Super J Crown Tournament on August 5th, 1996, bringing together eight championships as the Octuple Champion, including the NJPW IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title. Sasuke beat Ultimo Dragon in the finals.
Ultimo Dragon(2nd)
October 11th, 1996
Ultimo Dragon wins all eight championships from The Great Sasuke to become the new Octuple Champion.
Jushin Thunder Liger(8th)
January 4th, 1997
Liger lost one of the eight titles, the WAR International Title, to Yuuji Yasuraoka on June 6th, 1997, but kept all the other belts.
El Samurai(2nd)
July 6th, 1997
Shinjiro Ohtani
August 10th, 1997
Ohtani vacated every other championship except for the NJPW IWPG Junior Heavyweight Title on November 5th, 1997.
Jushin Thunder Liger(9th)
February 7th, 1998
Koji Kanemoto(3rd)
March 17th, 1999
Kendo Ka Shin
August 28th, 1999
Jushin Thunder Liger(10th)
October 11th, 1999
Juventud Guerrera
November 29th, 1999
Guerrera won the championship while in World Championship Wrestling. Guerrera later had to vacate the title in December 1999, due to injuries.
Jushin Thunder Liger(11th)
December 6th, 1999
La Parka and Psicosis were set to compete for the title, but Psicosis injured La Parka in the back, taking him out. Liger, as the substitute, defeated Psicosis to reclaim the title and take it back to NJPW.
Tatsuhito Takaiwa
July 20th, 2000
Minoru Tanaka
October 29th, 2000
Masayoshi Naruse
July 20th, 2001
Kendo Ka Shin(2nd)
October 8th, 2001
Ka Shin was forced to vacate the championship in January 2002, due to his leaving the promotion.
Minoru Tanaka(2nd)
February 16th, 2002
Tanaka became the new champion by defeating Masahito Kakihara in a singles match.
Koji Kanemoto(4th)
July 19th, 2002
Tiger Mask IV
April 23rd, 2003
Tiger Mask IV was forced to vacate the championship on September 23rd, 2003, after a match with Dick Togo.
October 13th, 2003
Jado became the new champion by winning an "Eleven-Man Royal Rumble" Match, last eliminating Koji Kanemoto.
(Minoru Tanaka)(3rd)
December 14th, 2003
Tiger Mask IV(2nd)
January 4th, 2005
Black Tiger
October 8th, 2005
Black Tiger unified the NJPW IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title with the NWA World Junior Heavyweight Title by defeating Tiger Mask IV.
Tiger Mask IV(3rd)
February 19th, 2006
Koji Kanemoto(5th)
May 3rd, 2006
Minoru Tanaka(4th)
December 24th, 2006
Yuusuke Taguchi
June 6th, 2007
Wataru Inoue
December 8th, 2007
Inoue vacated the championship on June 16th, 2008, due to Inoue heading up to the heavyweight division.
Tiger Mask IV(4th)
July 8th, 2008
Tiger Mask IV became the new champion by defeateing Prince Devitt in the tournament finals.
September 21st, 2008
Tiger Mask IV(5th)
January 4th, 2009
August 15th, 2009
Tiger Mask IV(6th)
November 8th, 2009
Naomichi Marufuji
January 4th, 2010
Prince Devitt
June 19th, 2010
Kota Ibushi
June 18th, 2011
Ibushi was forced to vacate the championship on September 12th, 2011, due to a shoulder injury.
Prince Devitt(2nd)
September 19th, 2011
Prince Devitt became the new champion by winning a "vacant championship" match over Kushida.