WCW World Heavyweight Title Holders
Ric Flair
January 11th, 1991
Flair defeated Sting for the NWA World Heavyweight Title. He then became recognized as the first WCW World Heavyweight Champion. Flair was stripped of the title on July 1st, 1991, when Flair was fired by WCW and went to the World Wrestling Federation.
Lex Luger
July 14th, 1991
Luger became the new champion by defeating Barry Windham in a singles match.
February 29th, 1992
Big Van Vader
July 12th, 1992
Ron Simmons
August 2nd, 1992
Big Van Vader(2nd)
December 30th, 1992
March 11th, 1993
Big Van Vader(3rd)
March 17th, 1993
Ric Flair(2nd)
December 27th, 1993
The championship was held up on April 17th, 1994, after a match between Flair and Ricky Steamboat ended in a double pin. Flair defeated Steamboat in a rematch on April 21st, 1994. Flair unified the WCW World Title with the WCW International World Title on June 23rd, 1994, defeating Sting.
Hulk Hogan
July 17th, 1994
The Giant
October 29th, 1995
Jimmy Hart, who was supposedly on Hogan's side against the Giant, rigged Hogan's contract to allow him to lose the belt via disqualification. The championship was later vacated on November 6th, 1995, due to the circumstances of the title change.
Randy Savage
November 26th, 1995
Savage became the new champion by winning the World War III '95 Three-Ring Battle Royal, last eliminating The One Man Gang.
Ric Flair(3rd)
December 27th, 1995
Randy Savage(2nd)
January 22nd, 1996
Ric Flair(4th)
February 11th, 1996
The Giant(2nd)
April 22nd, 1996
Hulk Hogan(2nd)
August 10th, 1996
Lex Luger(2nd)
August 4th, 1997
Hulk Hogan(3rd)
August 9th, 1997
December 28th, 1997
The championship was vacated January 8th, 1998, due to the controversial ending of the Hogan/Sting match.
February 22nd, 1998
Sting regained the championship by defeating Hollywood Hogan in a rematch.
Randy Savage(3rd)
April 19th, 1998
Hulk Hogan(4th)
April 20th, 1998
Bill Goldberg
July 6th, 1998
Kevin Nash
December 27th, 1998
Hulk Hogan(5th)
January 4th, 1999
Ric Flair(5th)
March 14th, 1999
Diamond Dallas Page
April 11th, 1999
DDP became the champion by winning a "Four Corners" Match over Ric Flair, Hulk Hogan, and Sting.
April 26th, 1999
Diamond Dallas Page(2nd)
April 26th, 1999
Sting defended the title the same night he won it, losing a "Four Corners" Match to DDP. The other participants were Kevin Nash and Bill Goldberg.
Kevin Nash(2nd)
May 9th, 1999
Randy Savage(4th)
July 11th, 1999
Savage & Sid Vicious won a "Tag-Team" Match over Kevin Nash & Sting. Since Savage got the pin, he won the title.
Hulk Hogan(6th)
July 12th, 1999
September 12th, 1999
Hogan allowed Sting to pin him. Later that night, Sting wrestled against Goldberg and lost. Since Sting never officially put the belt on the line, Goldberg didn't win it, but the belt was vacated on October 25th, 1999.
Bret Hart
November 21st, 1999
Hart became the new champion by defeating Chris Benoit in the tournament final. The title was vacated on December 20th, 1999, after a controversial ending of a Hart/Goldberg match.
Bret Hart(2nd)
December 20th, 1999
Hart regained the championship by defeating Bill Goldberg in a rematch. Hart was later stripped on January 16th, 2000, due to injury.
Chris Benoit
January 16th, 2000
Benoit became the champion by defeating Sid Vicious, but then left WCW for the WWF the next day, so the belt was stripped due to Vicious supposedly having his leg under the ropes during the pin.
Sid Vicious
January 24th, 2000
Sid became the new champion by defeating Commissioner Kevin Nash in a singles match. Vicious was stripped by Commissioner Nash on January 25th, 2000.
Kevin Nash(3rd)
January 25th, 2000
Nash, using his Commissioner powers, stripped Sid of the title and awarded it to himself.
Sid Vicious(2nd)
January 25th, 2000
Sid became champion by winning a "Steel Cage Handicap" Match over Ron Harris & Kevin Nash. The title was vacated on April 10th, 2000, by Eric Bischoff & Vince Russo.
Jeff Jarrett
April 16th, 2000
Jarrett became the new champion by defeating Diamond Dallas Page in a singles match.
Diamond Dallas Page(3rd)
April 24th, 2000
David Arquette
April 25th, 2000
Arquette, an actor, was part of WCW due to his role in the movie "Ready To Rumble". Arquette & Diamond Dallas Page won a "Tag-Team" Match over Eric Bischoff & Jeff Jarrett. Arquette pinned Bischoff to win the title.
Jeff Jarrett(2nd)
May 7th, 2000
Jarrett became the champion by winning a "Triple Cage" Match over David Arquette and Diamond Dallas Page.
Ric Flair(6th)
May 15th, 2000
Flair was stripped of the championship on May 22nd, 2000, by Vince Russo, due to an apparent "heart attack".
Jeff Jarrett(3rd)
May 22nd, 2000
Jarrett became the new champion by defeating Kevin Nash in a singles match.
Kevin Nash(4th)
May 23rd, 2000
Nash became the champion by winning a "Three Way" Match over Jeff Jarrett and Scott Steiner.
Ric Flair(7th)
May 29th, 2000
Flair was given the championship by Kevin Nash, who said Flair had never lost it and should not have been stripped by Russo.
Jeff Jarrett(4th)
May 29th, 2000
Jarrett laid down to Hulk Hogan on July 9th, 2000, surprising all. Vince Russo explained that the old WCW World Title (which Hogan got) was gone, and that Jarrett would defend the new title that night against Booker T.
Booker T
July 9th, 2000
Booker T became the new champion by defeating Jeff Jarrett for the vacant title.
Kevin Nash(5th)
August 28th, 2000
Booker T(2nd)
September 17th, 2000
Vince Russo
September 25th, 2000
Russo, a non-wrestler, escaped a "Steel Cage" Match first to become the champion. Russo vacated the championship on October 2nd, 2000.
Booker T(3rd)
October 2nd, 2000
Booker T regained the championship by defeating Jeff Jarrett in a singles match.
Scott Steiner
November 26th, 2000
Booker T(4th)
March 26th, 2001
Booker T won the championship from Steiner on the last episode of WCW Monday Nitro, as WWE bought WCW. All changes from now on happened on WWE Television.
Kurt Angle
July 24th, 2001
Booker T(5th)
July 30th, 2001
The Rock
August 19th, 2001
Chris Jericho
October 21st, 2001
The Rock(2nd)
November 5th, 2001
Chris Jericho(2nd)
December 9th, 2001
Jericho unified the WCW World Title with the WWF World Title, creating the Undisputed Championship (later known as the WWE Title).
Triple H
September 2nd, 2002
Triple H was given the World Heavyweight Title, which used the former WCW World Heavyweight belt (see World Title History).

Back Next