Heartland Wrestling Association
Heavyweight Title Holders
D'Lo Brown
January 5th, 1996
Brown became the first HWA Heavyweight Champion by defeating Bobby Blaze in the tournament finals.
Bobby Blaze
March 9th, 1996
D'Lo Brown(2nd)
March 16th, 1996
Brown vacated the HWA Heavyweight Title in 6/1996, and the title subsequently went inactive for several years.
Race Steele
May 25th, 2000
The title was restored in 2000, with Steele becoming the new champion by defeating Chip Fairway in the tournament finals.
Chad Collyer
January 26th, 2001
Collyer was stripped of the HWA Heavyweight Title on 2/27/2001, due to not defending the championship.
Shark Boy
February 27th, 2001
Shark Boy won the vacated championship by winning a Battle Royal, last eliminating Dean Jablonski and Matt Stryker.
Race Steele(2nd)
March 16th, 2001
Cody Hawk
July 17th, 2001
Race Steele(3rd)
August 4th, 2001
Nick Dinsmore
August 9th, 2001
Race Steele(4th)
August 18th, 2001
The championship was held up after a match on 9/30/2001 between Race Steele and Mark Jindrak.
EZ Money
October 24th, 2001
EZ Money became the new champion by defeating D'Lo Brown in the tournament final.
RC Haas
January 9th, 2002
Haas got the deciding pinfall on Val Venis in a 6-man Tag-Team Match with titles on the line.
EZ Money(2nd)
January 29th, 2002
The championship was returned to EZ Money, due to a technicality in the previous title match contract.
Rico Constantino
March 15th, 2002
Stevie Richards
March 17th, 2002
Race Steele(5th)
March 20th, 2002
Johnny The Bull
May 7th, 2002
Lance Cade
May 19th, 2002
Johnny The Bull(2nd)
July 20th, 2002
Lance Cade(2nd)
July 21st, 2002
Cody Hawk(2nd)
July 21st, 2002
Matt Stryker
September 17th, 2002
Chet Jablonski
November 9th, 2002
Matt Stryker(2nd)
January 2003
Cody Hawk(3rd)
March 24th, 2003
Matt Stryker(3rd)
March 29th, 2003
Big Al
April 15th, 2003
Chad Collyer(2nd)
May 2nd, 2003
Collyer won a "Royal Rumble" Match, last eliminating Chet Jablonski and Cody Hawk.
Nigel McGuinness
September 6th, 2003
January 3rd, 2004
Nigel McGuinness(2nd)
January 6th, 2004
El Temor
March 17th, 2004
Rory Fox
March 30th, 2004
July 20th, 2004
Rory Fox(2nd)
July 21st, 2004
The title was returning to Fox one day after losing it, due to the Executive Committee reversing the decision due to an absence of a contract.
Shawn Osbourne
March 25th, 2005
Matt Stryker(4th)
June 17th, 2005
Cody Hawk(4th)
September 23rd, 2005
Hawk was stripped of the championship in November 2005, due to testing positive for steroids.
Pepper Parks
January 21st, 2006
Parks became the new champion by defeating Jon Moxley in the tournament finals.
Jon Moxley
May 9th, 2006
Chad Collyer(3rd)
September 5th, 2006
Pepper Parks(2nd)
November 7th, 2006
Parks vacated the HWA Heavyweight Championship on 12/05/2006, due to being called up.
Jon Moxley(2nd)
December 30th, 2006
Moxley became the new champion by winning a "Four-Way" Match over Brian Jennings, JT Stahr, and Matt Stryker.
Brian Jennings
January 2nd, 2007
BJ Whitmer
January 18th, 2008
Whitmer was stripped of the championship on 6/11/2008, for unknown reasons.
Jake Crist
July 11th, 2008
Crist became the new champion by defeating Jon Moxley in a playoff match.
Richard Phillips
August 22nd, 2009
Aaron Williams
December 19th, 2009
Jon Moxley(3rd)
January 6th, 2010
Gerome Phillips
(Formerly Richard Phillips)(2nd)
July 14th, 2010
BJ Whitmer(2nd)
March 19th, 2011
Jesse Emerson
August 27th, 2011